Friday, February 29, 2008

Hollywood Nobody Winner

Thanks to all who participated with the Hollywood Nobody Giveaway. The winner is:

Lesha

I will be emailing her shortly. Please stop back by next month for even more giveaways!

Thanks again!!

The Ultimate Blog Party 2008

Ultimate Blog Party 2008

Have you heard about the Ultimate Blog Party 2008 hosted by 5 Minutes for Mom? The ladies at Teen Lit Review will be hosting our party here March 7-14 along with hundreds (maybe thousands) of other bloggers. So, please come and join us for a little fun and a couple book giveaways. Plus, there will be tons and tons of other blogger giveaways.

Click here for our welcome post and the book giveaways!

There are a few rules for participation if you want to join. Read below for the rules and our top 3 prize choices:

1. Invite your friends!
Post an invitation to the party and link back to 5 Minutes for Mom with one of their blog party buttons. You must be female, and your blog must be family friendly.

2. Host a party of your own during the party week.
Blog as usual, but you do have to have at least one post during the blog party week.

3. Sign the Mr. Linky at 5 Minutes for Mom.
"The Mr. Linky will go live at Friday March 7th, 12:01 am Eastern Time and participating bloggers who have their party post up can add their link any time during the week of the party."

Click here for a detailed list of the official rules. Don't forget to have fun!

There are so many cool prizes to be won at this year’s Ultimate Blog Party, but our top three picks would be:

#36: Marketing for Entrepreneurs from Lis Garrett

#60: $25 Amazon gift certificate from Judy
#49: $10 gift certificate from Christelle

And if our top three picks are already chosen, we'd love any of the following (in order of preference):59, 117, 94 or anything else related to books or anything that would help us promote our site.

Hollywood Nobody Giveaway


Welcome to our second book giveaway featuring Hollywood Nobody by Lisa Samson.

This giveaway is now closed. Please join us the week of the Ultimate Blog Party, March 7-14 for even more giveaways.

If you would like to participate in the drawing, please click the "Read the entire review" link below to read the rules:


1. Leave a comment with an email address or a blog where we may reach you. **(You don't have to have a blog to participate).
2. If you have a blog, please write a small post with a link back to our website. This is not required, but it's greatly appreciated because it helps us spread the word about our blog.

The winner will be announced on Feb. 29 (Leap Year) after 1:00 pm CST. And be sure to read the review here. Plus, if you're the winner, we would love to hear what you and your child think about the book.

Monday, February 25, 2008

Millicent Min, Girl Genius


Title: Millicent Min, Girl Genius
Author: Lisa Yee
Primary Audience/age group: 9-12
Genre: Humor
# Of pages: 256
Year of Release: 2003
Part of a Series? No
Awards: Sid Fleischman Humor Award
Rating: 5 (highly recommended)

Description: Millicent Min, a.k.a. Millie, is an 11-year-old genius who has the great misfortune of being stuck in the body of an 11-year-old. A child prodigy since the age of 2, Millie spends her time learning everything she possibly can. Unfortunately, Millie's family does not believe that her love of learning is good for her social life, so her parents sign her up one summer for volleyball and encourage her to get some friends her own age. Millie soon learns that making friends does not come easily and decides that admitting to potential friends that she is a genius is out of the question.

Review: I personally enjoyed this story. Millie is funny and oblivious, and her parents and the "normal" people around her add a good deal of color to the story line.

Positive: From a strictly educational point of view, this book is great because Millie's vocabulary is really advanced. Kids will need a dictionary to understand many of the words. The book contains no sex, language or violence. Millie lies to her newfound friend, but the book definitely does not encourage deception; it encourages honesty and the "be yourself" philosophy.

Spiritual Elements: Millie's grandmother loosely adheres to some Eastern religion, but I would say this book is pretty much void of any religious undercurrents.

Violence: None

Language: None

Sexual Content: None

Rating: 5 for being an interesting story with a positive message.

Recommendation: I would recommend this book, but I must be honest when I say that I truly believe it takes a prodigy or a very bright kid to appreciate and enjoy it. It's very brilliantly done and flawlessly captures a genius's tendency to be extremely intellectual and yet hopelessly ignorant.

Thursday, February 21, 2008

Doodlebug Designs Giveaway

Photobucket

Doodlebug Designs not only designed TLR's header and button but also designed my personal webpage, Scamp's Place. To celebrate the grand opening, Doodlebug Designs is hosting a great giveaway.

1st Place Prize ~ FREE completely customized blog design for a blogger blog!

2nd Place Prize ~ FREE completely customized header for a blogger blog!

3rd Place Prize ~ 10% off any service!

Click below to read the rules.

Go to Doodlebug Designs and:
1. Leave your link on the Mr. Linky.
2. Leave a comment.
3. Include the button and information about the give away with a link back to Doodlebug Designs on your blog.

The winner will be announced on Friday February 22nd!

Monday, February 11, 2008

Eleven


Title: Eleven
Author: Patricia Reilly Giff
Primary Audience/age group: 9-12
Genre: Mystery
# Of pages: 164
Year of Release: 2008
Part of a Series? No
Rating: 5 Highly Recommended

Description: On the eve of his eleventh birthday, Sam discovers an old newspaper clipping in his grandfather’s attic with a picture of himself as a small child and the word missing inscribed underneath it. His grandfather Mack is the only relative he’s ever known, but Sam begins to wander if there’s more to this story, especially when he begins having memories of another life with the image of the number 11. Is his grandfather keeping a dangerous secret from him? And why is Sam so scared of that number?

Review: What an excellent mystery for a young reader! Not only was the plot well written it had good morals. The characters were able to grow and overcome difficult obstacles along the way.

Positive: Sam has only ever known one relative, his grandfather. But, he is well loved and cared for by not only his grandfather but two of his grandfather’s close friends, Onji and Anima. They are all aware of Sam’s learning disability and encourage Sam to do his best in their own ways. Sam has a very special gift with woodworking much like his grandfather. Through this craft Sam is able to express himself. Sam also befriends Caroline, a new girl who moves with her family every few months and usually isn’t able to make friends.

Spiritual Elements: Anima reads the Bible (among other books) to all of them. She also tells an Iroquois legend about the Creator who had promised the Iroquois land if they stopped fighting. But since they did not, the Creator picked up the land causing it to break into thousands of tiny pieces.

Violence: The newspaper article Sam finds claimed that he was missing and was last seen going overboard on a boat.

Language: none

Sexual Content: none

Other: Sam was told that his mom, dad, and grandmother died before he was born. Sam and Caroline ride the bus to another city without telling anyone, but later Sam does confess what he did.

Rating: 5 for good morals

Recommendation: I feel this book is appropriate for ages 9-12. Although my first impression of the cover of the book was that the story was going to be scary, it was not. It was just a good all-around mystery that teaches good lessons.

The Door Within

Title: The Door Within: The Door Within Trilogy - Book One (The Door Within)
Author: Wayne Thomas Batson
Primary Audience/age group: 10 and up
Genre: Christian Fantasy
# Of pages: 320
Year of Release: 2005
Part of a Series? Yes, 1 of 3 (The Door Within Trilogy)
Rating: 4 for battle scenes
Description: Aidan Thomas is miserable. And it's much more than the strange nightmares he's been having. Just when life seemed to be coming together for Aidan, his parents suddenly move the family across the country to take care of his wheelchair-bound grandfather. When strange events begin to occur, Aidan is drawn into his grandfather's basement where he discovers three ancient scrolls and an invitation to another world.
No longer confined to the realm of his own imagination, Aidan embarks on an adventure where he meets knights, warriors, kings and mysterious Glimpses who can travel between worlds. Aidan joins them in the struggle between good and evil. With the fate of two worlds hanging in the balance, Aidan faces Paragory, the eternal enemy. Will Aidan be willing to risk everything and trust the unseen hand of the one true King?


Review: There are some books you just "click" with and some you don't - despite how much you'd like to. Though this was a good book, full of adventure, well written and fast paced - I never could get into it. My 13 year old son, on the other had, really enjoyed it. The main character is a boy, but a strong secondary character is a girl, so I think both boys and girls who like fantasy will enjoy the book.


Spiritual Elements: Christian symbolism is strong throughout the book. Lessons on faith, the ultimate decision to accept or deny Christ, Satan's fall, are written into the story in a very believable way on a level that tweens and teens will be able to identify and ponder.

Violence: There are several intense battle scenes.

Language: none

Sexual Content: none

Rating: 4 for intense battle scenes, nothing too gory though.

Recommendation: Though this was not my favorite book of this genre - I would recommend it. It is a clean read, that tweens/young teens will enjoy. The moral lessons it teaches are easily recongnizable and relevant to any age group. I believe your child will enjoy the book and eagerly ask for the rest of the trilogy. Mine did!

Friday, February 8, 2008

Hollywood Nobody


Title: Hollywood Nobody
Author: Lisa Samson
Primary Audience/age group: Young Adult (12 and up)
Genre: Christian Chick Lit
# Of pages: 220
Year of Release: 2007
Part of a Series? Yes, 1 of 4
Rating: 3
Recommend? Yes!


Read the Review for Finding Hollywood Nobody, Book 2

Description: Scotty Dawn is no average 15 year old. For starters, she lives in a mobile home with her mom, Charley, as they travel the country from movie set to movie set. She’s her own teacher and has freedoms most other teens only dream of, but Scotty feels the strain of not really knowing where she’s from or who she really is. And when a mysterious man starts lurking around, Scotty’s care-free life begins to turn upside down. As the answers are revealed to her, Scotty finds out that the truth may not be what she really wants to hear after all.

Review: This was a very light-hearted, fun-filled novel written in the form of a teenage girl’s diary. I was drawn to Scotty’s character not only because of her wise-beyond-her-years attitude but also because of her unique persona. The cute 50-esque style of the girl on the cover fits Scotty to a tee. She is so adorable. I just wanted to be her best friend.

Positive: Even though Scotty has more freedoms than most teenage girls do, she isn’t the type to get in trouble and hang out with the wrong crowd. She’s anti-drugs, anti-alcohol, and anti-Hollywood glam (as in looking perfect). She is a very bright character who tries to make moral decisions for her life.

Scotty’s mom isn’t a very good role model, but she does love her and has a very good reason for the decisions she’s made in Scotty’s life. Scotty does have a couple of grandparent-type mentors who love and support her along the way.

Spiritual Elements: Even though Scotty wasn’t raised in church she’s open to God and religion in general. She attends a tent meeting and digs a little deeper on her own by googling Jesus on the web. The search may sound funny, but she eventually accepts Christ into her life.

Violence: A character is shot and killed.

Language: none

Sexual Content: Scotty believes her mom doesn't know who her father is because she got pregnant with her out of wedlock. She hates seeing her mom in that light because she doesn't want to think of her as slutty.

Scotty believes her 19-year old friend Seth has had sex and regrets it. He is almost like a big brother character except for the fact that Scotty has a crush on him. He encourages her to not make the same mistakes he did. She doesn’t think any guy would find her attractive much less have sex with her.

Other: Scotty’s mom, Charley, is a hippie who pushes the rules. She used to take drugs when she was younger. She likes for Scotty to call her by her first name.

Scotty does not attend school. She’s “road-schooled.” In other words she home schools herself as they drive from place to place in their mobile home. She has her own secret credit card that she pays off every month and has a gossip blog on the Internet called Hollywood Nobody.

Scotty meets Seth out on the beach to just hang out, but her mother doesn’t know about it.

Scotty discusses her views on wearing thongs, breast implants, and male underwear models in a funny, I-can't-believe-anyone-would-do-these-types-of-things way.

Rating: 3 for an intense violence sequence, mention of previous drug use, some sex references and semi-crude jokes (see "Other")

Recommendation: This was a very modern tale with a great twist at the end that ties everything together. I feel this book is appropriate for ages 14 and above and would recommend it as a wonderful book for mother and daughter to read together. I think it would act as a great lead-in to some grown-up conversations with daughters concerning sex, drugs, and moral relationships as well as the cons of trying to be the perfect “air-brushed” woman Hollywood and the media in general glamorize.

Monday, February 4, 2008

Book Request Guidelines

Authors and Publicists,

Due to the amount of book review requests we receive Teen Lit Review is no longer able to accept self-published books for review. For all other book review requests, please email us at teenlitreview2@gmail.com. We will contact you if we are able to review it at that time. Book requests may take up to 3 months to review. Thank you for your understanding.

Shawna

Friday, February 1, 2008

Leave a Comment and Win! WINNER ANNOUNCED!

We put all the comments left anywhere on the blog since it began till yesterday 2/1 in a hat. Then I drew one out and The winner of Teen Lit Review's 1st drawing is Julie at Jewelz sightings. Congratulations! Check back soon for the next drawing!

So, what do you think of the new blog? We want your feedback! Leave a comment anywhere on the Teen Lit Review Blog before 2/1/08, and be entered into a drawing for Kingdom's Dawn by Chuck Black.
Kingdom's Dawn - Sixteen-year-old Leinad thought he was a common farmer's son, nothing more. He wondered why his father had trained him for years to master the sword--not exactly a tool of the trade for farmers--but one tragic event initiates a world of revelation.
Only then does he understand his true calling--a calling no other man in the entire kingdom of Arrethtrae can fulfill--a calling given him by the King Himself.
Teamed with a young slave girl, Leinad is thrust into adversity and danger--for the Dank Knight and his vicious Shadow Warriors will stop a nothing to thwart the Kings plan to restore the kingdom. Leinad will need more than a sharp blade and a swift hand to fulfill his mission and survive the evil plots of the King's sworn enemies!
Journey to Arrethtrae, where the King and His Son implement a bold plan to save their kingdom; where courage, faith and loyalty stand tall in the face of opposition; where good will not bow to evil--and the future of a kingdom lies in the hands of a young man. Exciting fiction for teens.